Our story

caroline

Coming to terms with using a cane is a difficult process. It means admitting that you need help to get around and stay steady on your feet. It also means telling the world that you’re not moving as quickly as you used to.  

Like everyone else in my situation, I waited as long as I possibly could before finally starting to use a cane. Two events in the same week helped me decide: first, I came within a hair of getting hit by a car, and then one lunchtime, I got stuck right in the middle of René-Lévesque Boulevard.

And so, at the age of 36, I bought my first cane. Given the limited number of choices available, I picked a black one that reminded me of Charlie Chaplin. It was the only model that allowed me to inject a little humour into the sobering reality of needing a cane.

Years later, I found myself wondering why there were still so few different canes on the market. After all, people who need glasses can choose from thousands of frame styles, from classic to kooky!  

With that in mind, I started looking seriously for a cane I could be proud of: something nice-looking and well-designed that would suit my style and help keep me moving. But it simply did not exist. So I decided to design one myself, focusing on the three qualities most important to me:

Style + Stability + Security

And that’s how the 3S was born. While we were innovating, we decided to create an ergonomic grip that would provide a maximum of control for a minimum of effort. We also chose to make the shafts out of solid wood, designed to be both visible and elegant.  

Here, then, is our first collection of nine models that celebrate beautifully the strength of character of everyone who is standing tall!

We look forward to welcoming you into our community.

Caroline

 
en

Notre histoire

caroline

Accepter d’utiliser une canne est un passage difficile.  C’est admettre qu’on a besoin d’aide pour se déplacer, pour se stabiliser et surtout, c’est dire aux autres qu’on ne bouge plus aussi vite qu’avant.  

Comme tout le monde, j’ai retardé au maximum le moment d’utiliser une canne.  Pour me décider, il a fallu durant la même semaine que je sois à un doigt de me faire frapper et qu’un midi, je me retrouve bloquée en plein milieu du boulevard René-Lévesque.

J’ai donc acheté ma première canne à 36 ans et devant le piètre choix, j’ai opté pour la moins laide, un modèle de couleur noire à la Charlie Chaplin.  C’était le seul type de canne qui me permettait d’aborder avec un peu d’humour son arrivée dans ma vie.

Aujourd’hui encore, je me demande pourquoi le choix est toujours aussi pauvre tandis que pour les lunettes, il existe une vaste gamme de montures allant des plus classiques aux plus excentriques.  

C’est avec cette idée en tête que je me suis mise à la recherche d’une canne dont je serais fière; un bel objet utilitaire qui se marierait à mon style et veillerait à me garder debout. Je ne l’ai pas trouvée, alors j’ai décidé de la concevoir moi-même selon les trois caractéristiques qui m’importaient :

Style + Stabilité + Sécurité

La 3S a pris forme et tant qu’à innover on en a profité pour inventer une poignée ergonomique offrant un maximum de contrôle pour un minimum d’effort.  On a aussi choisi de changer la forme du bâton afin qu’il soit bien visible, élégant et en bois véritable. On vous présente notre première collection de neuf modèles qui veut célébrer en beauté la force de caractère de ceux qui restent debout ! 

Au plaisir de vous accueillir dans notre communauté,

Caroline

 
fr